top of page
Search
  • mikaylapetersen

Journal 9: Signifying Nothing

Updated: May 4, 2019

The meaning of life has been a daunting question that many have yet to find an answer too. Even the smartest people in the world struggle with this idea. Macbeth portrays life through a metaphor, representing how life seems pointless: "Tomorrow, and tomorrow, and tomorrow, Creeps in this petty pace from day to day. To the last syllable of recorded time, And all our yesterdays have lighted fools. The way to dusty death. Out, out, brief candle! Life’s but a walking shadow, a poor player that struts and frets his hour upon the stage. And then is heard no more. It is a tale. Told by an idiot, full of sound and fury, signifying nothing" (Act 5 Scene 2). If I portrayed life as a metaphor, I would represent it as a somebody running though a maze towards a light at the end. As a child, you were told and directed on a specific path to follow: school, college, get a job, get married, have children, etc. However, as you get older, you start to realize that each person has a their own unique path to follow. The maze represents the hardships and challenges faced throughout life. Learning how to get back up after failing is one lesson learned in this puzzle.


I try to remain optimistic even when events in life doesn't go how I anticipated it too. However, as I get older, remaining hopeful has become harder as the reality of growing up has sunk deeper. If I was asked this question even one year ago, I would have a different perspective as compared to now. As much as I want to be an optimistic person and to see the good in life, it sometimes feels impossible to do so. Either I feel as if I am constantly being pushed down and cannot get back up, or I feel unstoppable and at my best. Overall, I feel very conflicted about my perspective with the meaning of life, pertaining to myself. My mood, and how I am doing mentally, drastically affects the answer to this question.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog Post: Staging Macbeth

Question: Do you think the dagger should be visible to the audience? What about the ghost of Banquo? I think that the dagger shouldn't be visible to the audience. If the actor is looking into space, i

© 2023 by Salt & Pepper. Proudly created with Wix.com

SUBSCRIBE VIA EMAIL

bottom of page